Nordic cooperation

Nordic cooperation on energy and climate contributes to dynamic development, improving the competences and competitive power of the Nordic countries.

Nordic cooperation comprises Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden, along with the three autonomous regions of the Faroe Islands, Greenland and the Aaland islands. The Nordic cooperation stands as one of the oldest and most comprehensive partnerships in the world.

Energy Cooperation

Nordic cooperation on energy provides visible and sustainable contributions to solving the most pertinent energy-political challenge that the Nordic nations are facing. It relates to combating climate change through reducing greenhouse gas emissions and ensuring future energy supply security.

Read more about the Nordic Energy Cooperation

Climate Cooperation

The Nordic countries are deeply involved in international climate cooperation and strive to be a leading partner in the field of international climate change negotiations. Pan-Nordic working groups aim to influence international climate policy. 

Read more about the Climate and Air Pollution Group

Current operation areas of Nordic cooperation

The Nordic Ministers for Energy have decided to make a strategic assessment of Nordic energy cooperation. The strategic assessment will result in a report containing action-oriented propositions of cooperation with Nordic benefit and recommendations for further development of the Nordic energy cooperation on a long-term perspective. 

Read more about the strategic assessment here

The Nordic Council of Ministers

The cooperation of the Nordic governments in the field of energy policy lies within the framework of the Nordic Council of Ministers for Business, Energy and Regional Policy (MR-NER). The cooperation on climate policy lies within the Nordic Council of Ministers for Environment (MR-M). Representatives of the governments work together under the two Councils of Ministers in official committees of and a number of task groups.

Read more about the Nordic Council of Ministers